Seeking advice for repository design

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seeking advice for repository design

I am a software developer currently developing a number of software. Each of them is a project for an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) like Visual Studio/Eclipse. Let's call them ProjectA, ProjectB ... ProjectZ.

They will be largely variants based on a in-house developed template framework which is a project itself providing the skeleton structure. Let's call the project Framework. Each project contains additional unique files on top of the files from the template Framework. For example, if the Framework contains the file main.c, ProjectA contains a copy of main.c plus its own a.c It is hoped that whatever files that are updated in Framework can be automatically replaced in the other projects using it.

So here's a few questions.

Issue 1: Repository: Single Project or Multi-Projects

Is it recommended to have 1 repository for 1 project or 1 repository for all projects? The single project repository structure however seems to be the default configuration and other version control systems like git and Mercurial. For each new project in a new directory folder, go a git init or hg init as a new local repository. Many IDEs also appear to assume this model. And TortoiseSVN (latest 1.9.5?) offers to create the trunk, branches and tags directories directly in the repository root after creating the repository itself.

Pro:
    1. Any change and revision number will be localized to and therefore meaningful; the revision number won't increase when it is due to checked-in modified files in other projects in a multi-projects repository.
    2. Any corrupted repository will affect lesser files as it is scoped to 1 project only.
    3. The size of each repository would likely remain small and manageable.