Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• User property for file modification date/time

Hello,

I have no experience on SVN, therefore I'd like to ask here how to implement a user property so that it is automatically maintained and used by checkout / checkin.

Background:
    I want SVN to preserve the original file modification date.
    Afaik, SVN does set the file date/time to the check-out time, or, by an option, to the last check-in time.

I read in some discussions that there is no standard way to change this, but by using a "custom property", it shall be possible to
    - preserve at check-in the file modification date/time
    - reassign that preserved date/time to the file at check-out
    and all of that shall me done automatically by the svn server.

Unfortunately, I am completely inexperienced on SVN.

So I'd like to ask you to support me, to give me help and instruction how to do this.
    I did'nt found any existing entry discussing this...

Thanks in advance

Henri

There's a lot to be concerned about when preserving timestamps with respect to building. Check out this StackOverflow page:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-on-subversion

Check out the 1st answer (the one with 50-ish upvotes). But read the others. You will need the background to understand how this will impact your build automation.

Comment

Originally posted by DougR View Post
      There's a lot to be concerned about when preserving timestamps with respect to building. Check out this StackOverflow page:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-on-subversion

Check out the 1st answer (the one with 50-ish upvotes). But read the others. You will need the background to understand how this will impact your build automation.
      Thanks for the response.

Exactly this post I meant with "I read some discussions" - and I found no other one with this topic.
      Yes, I read all responses, even some are out of the TE focus.