Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I created a branch of my project but most of my references weren't copied over to it.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I created a branch of my project but most of my references weren't copied over to it.

I just created a branch of my project in Visual studio using VisualSVN but when I switched to the new Branch My Program wouldn't run.

I looked in the program references and only the standard microsoft references were there; none of the other references for dll's etc were there.
    I am very new to SVN and don't understand what I could be doing wrong.
    I did read and follow a tutorial on creating Branches and think I did it right?
    I deleted the Branch and tried again but got the same result.

Any pointers or advice would be appreciated

Branching in Subversion is done using the "svn copy" command.
    From/to where you create your branches is typically an agreed upon policy.

Since I don't use VS, I don't know if there's a requirement to the policy or not...

In general, however, a Subversion working area should really only be from a single branch (not from root-of-repository).

Comment

[QUOTE=DougR;n81018]Branching in Subversion is done using the "svn copy" command.
      From/to where you create your branches is typically an agreed upon policy.

Since I don't use VS, I don't know if there's a requirement to the policy or not...

In general, however, a Subversion working area should really only be from a single branch (not from root-of-repository).[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your reply.
      I'm not a professional Programmer so I don't really understand the last line of your reply.
      My main working copy is on the Trunk in VisualSvn which is a wrapper for TortoiseSVN and I just create a Branch from either the working copy, a specific revision or the Head.