Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice needed for folder setup on SVN & Search Functionality

Hello,

I am a newbie to SVN so please accept my apologies in advance if the following is very basic question; I haven't been able to source the answer anywhere else so I would like to put the question out there. However, I have been asked to find a solution to a couple of problems so I thought here might be a good start.

Quick background - my company uses SVN ([I]1.6.17 (r1128011) [/I]and we are storing thousands of documents. These are arranged into folders according to Department and each Department folder has many sub-folders. We seem to have a couple of general issues

1. Users cannot search the SVN directories using SVN itself. They need to download their respective (and entire Department parent folder) onto their C: drive and then search with a CNTL-F. Not sure if this is the proper way to do this but with so many documents under the parent folder, downloading the entire thing can take the best part of a day in each case and often breaks down and needs to be restarted. Users need to be able to review and comment on documents other than their own. They cannot do this without loading the entire folder onto their local drive which is very time consuming.

2. The folder structure that has emerged organically is complicated and needs to be re-done. However, each existing SVN location has a link which is recorded in a separate system (JIRA) and moving folder and files breaks the link. The JIRA is the only way we can search for SVN documents and, if we break the link by tidying up, we cannot search for anything (see point 1)

The main issues are therefore

1. Locally stored versions needed to access/update and
    2. Search functionality