Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie question

Hi,

I'm new to SVN. We're using Tortoise SVN.
    I've got a V1 and V2 of my software, ready to place into SVN.
    Presently, they are sitting in C:\Foo\Bar\V1\ and C:\Foo\Bar\V2\

The IDE we use, hardcodes those paths, into settings files.
    So V1, as stands at least, will only build properly, when residing in C:\Foo\Bar\V1\
    And V2, as stands at least, will only build properly, when residing in C:\Foo\Bar\V2\

I like to have both present on my PC, as I can compare, with eg 'WinMerge',
    when I need to see the changes, between V1 and V2

OK, so that's the situation, as stands

Question is, can Tortoise SVN, or SVN generally, cope ?

For example, if I check-in all the files under C:\Foo\Bar\V1\,
    and then want to check-out later, does SVN record the path C:\Foo\Bar\V1\,
    and know to check-out to there (it won't build, otherwise) ?

Also, when I subsequently check-in the files under C:\Foo\Bar\V2\,
    how can SVN know, or be made to know, that these are a new version of the
    files I checked-in from C:\Foo\Bar\V1\, and not something totally different and unrelated ?

I read the SVN quick start / documentation guides. But it didn't explain how I might deal with the described situation.

If the above, is all too tricky, then I guess I'll have to take a different tack, as below, I presume ?

Create folder C:\Foo\Bar\Current\, and copy C:\Foo\Bar\V1\ files to C:\Foo\Bar\Current\.
    Then, in the IDE, alter the mentioned hardcoded paths, from C:\Foo\Bar\V1\, to C:\Foo\Bar\Current\.
    Check the software builds. Then check-in the files under C:\Foo\Bar\Current\, tagging as V1.

Next, delete the files under C:\Foo\Bar\Current\, then copy in the files from C:\Foo\Bar\V2\.
    In the IDE, alter the mentioned hardcoded paths, from C:\Foo\Bar\V2\, to C:\Foo\Bar\Current\.
    Check the software builds. Then check-in the files under C:\Foo\Bar\Current\, tagging as V2.